top of page

Having Fun Shooting A Channel 9 News Segment - 19 May 2014

On Friday, 16 May 2014, Kath, Todd and Emma arrived at my CBD apartment with a television camera, lighting stands and microphones in tow, ready to film a segment for the Channel 9 news bulletin to be aired at 6.00 p.m. on Monday, 19 May 2014.

They were a great crew and we had heaps of fun filming, especially with Todd - at my constant begging - making sure my double chin didn't turn into a quad-roll. There was also the added advantage of that well-known wonderful magic of television cameras as they tried to add ten pounds to my already ample figure - I just hope they weren't too successful!

Kath Landers, who is a regular presenter for live segments during evening news bulletins, was a delight to work with - especially when she said I didn't look anywhere near my (mumble mumble) years 'young' - please give my new friend a raise, Channel 9! Emma, a friendly intern who 'came along for the ride' on this her last assignment before heading back to uni for her television production course, was very encouraging, as well.

Small promos were aired over the weekend prior to the segment featuring on the main news bulletin, with snippets of Kath's attractive face enhancing my kitchen and introducing me as I checked out our pantry wares in the background. There was the added chance to show off my newly learnt iPad skills - and not so clever ability to turn the nifty little contraption off regularly due to a wayward thumb making friends with the on/off button ... sorry, guys :(

So the interview was aired as they said it would be; I wasn't too embarrassed, and Kath looks just as gorgeous and slender on camera as she does in real life - jealous much!! But Todd did manage to camouflage my chin and make me look at least presentable ... well done, mate!

I have to send my thanks to Rebecca Wilson, Founder of the Starts @ 60 Facebook Page, for recruiting me for the shoot in the first place and for joining me on-screen, even though we are still to meet in real life. A big thank you also to Kathryn McIsaac, Producer of Channel 9 News who was so helpful via telephone and emails through a very trying Federal Budget week where there were too many stories to air and not enough camera crews to go round, and again to the crew for a fun morning negotiating a very large camera and lighting stand around my inner-city apartment.

I think I'm getting to be an old hand at TV gigs after appearing on 'The Project' for an impromptu interview in Sydney a couple of years ago, along with an appearance in Channel 10s new year's promo many many moons ago - as well as featuring in a large spread as a 50s bopper for The Sunshine Coast Daily back in the 80s. Now I can only hope that one day my novels will be featured in some form of media as well. Mmm, a girl can only hope!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page