top of page

A DISCARDED PILE OF WADDING - An ode to an old friend...

He’s been plopped down in the corner, all alone and forlorn... “Where are all the little people, where've they all gone?” Outside there’s a ruckus – he hears a little boy’s excited cry. “Oh why can’t I be with them ’stead o’ sittin’ here high ’n dry?

They’re all havin’ fun – I just have to wait ’n stew... Don’t they know this place is borin’ – nothin’ much for me to do.”

He waits and wonders, listening hard for any happy call... “Oooh, now what are they doin’? Probly don't even miss me at all!” The calls fade away for a while – then they’re back, loud and clear “See, he’s forgotten all about me...” comes a mournful cry and a stray tear. Another hour goes by – then another ... and then one more. Still no sign of them but that beady eye is fastened on the door.

Darkness creeps in slowly – the sun’s rays quietly slip away This sad little critter shuts that one eye - it's the end of another day. “I’ll jus' go t’ sleep for a while – maybe then I won’t feel so glum... If only I had a mouth – then I could suck a friendly thumb. But I don’t even have one of them,” comes a miserable mumble

And out of that old rocking chair he falls with a heavy tumble.

“THERE you are, my pillow – it’s time for you ‘n me to play.” Our grumpy friend suddenly finds he had never really gone astray. Smothered in sloppy kisses – he's tucked under a well-known arm “Don’t worry, I’m here now ... I'd never let YOU come to any harm. Come on! Let’s go 'n play in my room, ’til it’s time to get fed... Then you ‘n me can snuggle up all night long in our comfy old bed.”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page